I began collecting paintings relatively recently, back at the start of 2000, when I got to know Anatoly Beckerman, the well-known dealer and collector, whilst in New York. As the leading expert on Russian art of the first half of the 20th century, Anatoly played a key role in the development of my tastes. The first paintings to be acquired for the collection were by the greatest Russian émigré artists, including B. Grigoriev, A. Yakovlev, N. Roerich, A. Exter, N. Goncharova and B. Anisfeld.

However, the concept for choosing the works and the main theme of the collection did not appear immediately. Following the conventions for periodising and classifying art into schools and movements, the years 1910-20 and 1960-70 are the two periods in Russian fine art of the 20th century which are of particular interest. They represent the appearance of the Russian avant-garde and the ‘second’ Russian avant-garde (the so-called ‘non-conformism’) respectively, disconnected by several decades of well-documented history. As such, the collection has been built not around individual schools and artists; rather it focuses on periods in art which form a focal point for any serious collection. The ‘second Russian avant-garde’ offers, in my view, the best opportunity to acquire first-rate works. The market valuation for artists from this period do not as yet compare with Russian artists from the start of the 20th century which currently command significantly higher prices. In addition, the market for non-conformist artists has the potential to be far greater in size. In actual fact, most of the best works from this period did not end up in the Russian state museums but were taken out of Russia by Western diplomats, journalists and collectors during the 1960’s and 1970’s and found their way into the hands of private collectors. The increase in demand and prices for these works over the past five to six years has also led to an increase in supply as more of the artists’ works have come to market, either at the leading auction houses or in private galleries. The growth of the market for the ‘second Russian avant-garde’ can to a large extent be attributed to the London auction house, MacDougall’s, founded relatively recently. It has held a series of successful auctions of Russian artists from the post-war period.
The collection began to expand significantly from 2005 onwards. One obvious counter-effect of pursuing a strategy of rapid growth under conditions of intensifying competition for assets, when applied both in business and in the art market, is that it can become ever more costly. As a result of such competition amongst buyers at the open auctions, I exceeded the world record for the price paid for the best works by artists such as O. Rabin, O. Tselkov, M. Shvartsman, E. Steinberg, E. Rukhin, B. Vassilev and a number of others whose work I wanted to incorporate into the collection. There are no regrets about this for, in my view, Russian artists of this period are as yet not overpriced.
The collection is located in the three countries where our family resides and is being presented for the first time in full on this website. Individual paintings are often on display at exhibitions organised by The Tretyakov State Gallery, The State Russian Museum and other museums and organisations outside Russia which are active in the promotion of Russian art. The collection is, of course, in no way complete and new works, and occasionally new artists, are continually being added. I expect that several new names will also appear very shortly which have only become known in the past ten to fifteen years and will cover not just painting but also other forms of artist expression.
Igor Tsukanov

THE TSUKANOV ART COLLECTION

 

Собирать живопись я начал относительно недавно, с начала 2000 года, когда познакомился в Нью-Йорке с известным дилером и коллекционером Анатолием Беккерманом.  Являясь крупнейшим знатоком русского искусства первой половины ХХ века, Анатолий оказал огромное влияние на мои предпочтения.  Коллекция началась с приобретения работ крупнейших художников русского зарубежья, таких как Б. Григорьев, А. Яковлев, Н. Рерих, А. Экстер, Н. Гончарова, Б. Анисфельд. 
 
Но выбор концепции для отбора вещей и основная тема коллекции возникли не сразу.  При всех условностях в периодизации искусства и классификации на школы и направления так или иначе можно выделить два наиболее интересных периода в российском изобразительном искусстве ХХ века – 1910-20 гг и 1960 – 70 гг., т.е. периоды появления русского авангарда и «второго» русского авангарда (называемого также «нонконформизмом»), разрыв между которыми в силу ряда известных причин составил несколько десятилетий.   Поэтому выбор встал не между отдельными школами и именами, а скорее художественными эпохами, которые и являются своего рода центром притяжения любого серьезного собрания.  Как мне представлялось, больше возможностей для приобретения первоклассных работ открывал период «второго русского авангарда». Во-первых, рыночная оценка художников этого периода пока все еще не сопоставима с именами русских художников первого ряда начала ХХ века, и здесь работают совершенно иные бюджетные ограничения.  Во-вторых,  рынок работ художников-нонконформистов потенциально значительно шире.   Действительно, большинство лучших произведений этого периода оказалось не в российских государственных музеях, а было вывезено из России западными дипломатами, журналистами и коллекционерами в 60-70-ее годы и осело в частных зарубежных коллекциях.  С появлением спроса и роста цен на работы в последние пять-шесть лет возникло и предложение, и все больше работ художников стало появляться на рынке – в ведущих аукционных домах и частных галереях.   Большое влияние на формирование рынка «второго русского авангарда» оказал сравнительно недавно созданный аукционный дом МакДоугаллс (Лондон), который сумел провести ряд успешных аукционов русских художников послевоенного периода. 
 
С 2005 года коллекция значительно выросла. Стратегия быстрого роста в условиях ужесточения конкуренции «за активы» как в бизнесе, так и на арт-рынке имеет, очевидно, и обратную сторону – она становится все более дорогостоящей.   Именно конкуренция покупателей на открытых аукционных торгах привела к тому, что мне пришлось превысить существующие «мировые рекорды цен» на  лучшие работы таких художников как О. Рабин, О. Целков, М. Шварцман, Э. Штейнберг, Е. Рухин, Б. Васильев и некоторых других мастеров, которых я хотел бы видеть в своей коллекции.  Я вспоминаю об этом без тени сожаления, поскольку убежден, что рыночная переоценка русских художников этого периода еще впереди.    
 
Коллекция располагается в трех странах, где проживает наша семья, и полностью она впервые представлена на этом сайте. Однако отдельные картины часто экспонируются на выставках, организуемых Третьяковской галереей, Русским музеем и зарубежными музеями и организациями, заинтересованными в продвижении русского искусства.  
 
Коллекция не является завершенной – она дополняется и новыми художниками (реже), и значимыми работами.  Я ожидаю, что совсем скоро в ней появятся и имена, заявившие о себе уже в последние 10-15 лет, и, вероятно, это будет не только живопись, но и иные форматы художественного изображения.
 
Игорь Цуканов
 
Сайт взломан, ответь на емейл.
адрес крипто кошелька этириум: 
0xE1Cf34E6cCD5C06e7999Ca7AFD4d608C7B5c5C28