THE TSUKANOV ART COLLECTION

 

Rabin Oskar

 ‘I worked as if possessed, trying to paint slick, syrupy, ‘safe’ things which were easily within the reach of the understanding of the ‘powers that be’. I then destroyed these paintings one by one. I just couldn’t bear to look at them’.
‘In my painting, I experience the pleasure from the process itself, mixing and laying down the colours, enjoying their brightness and dimness, the subtle and broad brushstrokes, their smell. Then, I want express sorrow, happiness, hate, anger, love, thoughts about life and people. I want to capture life and communicate it through my own feelings. To achieve this, for symbols I use normal objects around me. Their meaning in painting is different than in real life’.

Born in 1928

Oskar Yakovlevich Rabin’s work, celebrated in the West as ‘Solzhenitsyn in painting’, honestly and eloquently reflected the mood in society during the 1960’s and 1970’s. An outstanding master with a deeply individual way of seeing the world, Oskar Rabin was one of the originators of non-conformism and one of the organisers of the ‘Lianozovo Group’ which grew up around Evgeny Kropivnitski. Over a period of seven years (1958-1965), the former camp barracks in Lianozovo, where Oskar Rabin lived with his wife, Valentina Kropivnitskaya, acted as the centre of the progressive intelligentsia. Surrounded by his family, life in a Moscow suburb with ‘ignoble’ objects from everyday Soviet material life and its dramatic absurdity was for many years the central theme of Rabin’s creativity. The artist’s favourite genres included landscape, still-life and interiors, continuing in the tradition of 1920’s European expressionism. Trying to imbue his painting with a social-critical tone and bring out the ‘anti-humanity’ of modern man’s environment, Rabin uses a distortion of perspective, the principals of deformation and the destruction of large-scale relationships. Through his emotionally saturated style, as well as his laconic manner, Rabin interweaves different genres and artistic devices, elements of collage and assemblage are introduced into the paintings. The drama of the works is highlighted by chronological ‘markers’, denoted by fragments of newspapers, stickers and labels. The uncorrupted truth of life, seen by the communist authorities as dissidence, released from the chains social-realism, was cause for Oskar Rabin to lose his Soviet citizenship. Moving to Paris in 1978, he gained there new inspiration and international recognition.


‘His subjects are taken from the life around him, in other words he uses it as material. During the ten years or so that he lived in the barracks, he painted barracks. After moving to a new house, he painted new houses. He rethinks reality and gives it an exceptionally individual colouring. The face of the artists is staring out from behind each object introduced onto the composition’s canvas. His particular choice of items barely changes from one painting to the next: buildings, churches, bottles, fish, cats, crosses, icons and advertisements. Less often there are flowers, samovars, teapots, road signs…’. Leonid Kropivnitski

“I would compare Oscar Rabin with Gustav Kurbe, who cut down the Vendôme column, a symbol of absolutism. In the same way Rabin was a legend of unofficial art, which cut down the invisible column of the Soviet official art.” Leonid Sokov
 
The artist's work can be found in the following museums and collections:
   
Moon and Skull
The State Tretyakov Gallery
Money
Contemporary Art Museum

THE TSUKANOV ART COLLECTION

 

Рабин Оскар

 «Я трудился как одержимый, пытаясь писать прилизанные, сиропные, «благополучные» вещи, доступные пониманию власть предержащих. Затем я уничтожил эти картины одну за другой. Я просто не мог их видеть».
«В живописи я, прежде всего, испытываю наслаждение от самого процесса смешивания и нанесения красок, наслаждаясь их блеском и тусклостью, тонкими и толстыми мазками, их запахом. Но затем мне хочется выразить печаль, счастье, ненависть, гнев, любовь, мысли о жизни и людях. Мне хочется взять в плен жизнь и передать через свои собственные чувства. Чтобы достичь этого, я использую в качестве символов обычные предметы, которые окружают меня. Их значение в живописи иное, чем в реальной жизни».

Родился в 1928 году

Произведения Оскара Яковлевича Рабина, на Западе прозванного «Солженицын в живописи», правдиво и красноречиво отразили настроения общества в 60–70-е годы. Выдающийся мастер с глубоко индивидуальным восприятием мира, Оскар Рабин стоял у истоков нонконформизма. Он был в числе организаторов «Лианозовской группы», сложившейся вокруг Евгения Кропивницкого. На протяжении семи лет (1958–1965) бывший лагерный барак в Лианозове, где жили Оскар Рабин и его жена Валентина Кропивницкая, служил центром притяжения для прогрессивной интеллигенции. Окружавшая семью жизнь московского пригорода с «низкими» приметами советской материальной обыденности, ее драматической абсурдности надолго стала темой творчества Рабина. Пейзаж, натюрморт, интерьер – излюбленные жанры художника, продолжающего традиции европейского экспрессионизма 1920-х. Стремясь придать изображению социально-критическое звучание, подчеркнуть антигуманность среды, в которой обитает современный человек, Рабин использует искажения перспективы, принципы деформации, нарушение масштабных соотношений. В эмоционально насыщенной и вместе с тем лаконичной манере Рабина переплетены различные жанры и художественные приемы, в картины введены элементы коллажа и ассамбляжа. Драматургию произведений подчеркивают хронологические «вехи», отмеченные обрывками газет, наклейками, этикетками. Неподкупная правда жизни, воспринимавшееся коммунистическими властями как диссидентство, освобождение от уз соцреализма стало причиной лишения Оскара Рабина советского гражданства. Поселившись в 1978 году в Париже, он обрел там новое дыхание и международное признание.


«Сюжеты он берет из окружающей жизни, точнее – пользуется ею как материалом. Живя более десяти лет в бараке – он писал бараки. Переехав в новый дом – он пишет новые дома. Он переосмысливает реальность, она получает у него сугубо индивидуальную окраску. Лицо художника проглядывает за каждым предметом, внесенным в композицию полотна. Определенный набор их, почти не меняясь, переходит из картины в картину. Здания, храмы, бутылки, рыбы, кошки кресты, иконы, рекламы. Реже цветы, самовары, чайники, дорожные знаки…». Леонид Кропивницкий

«Я сравнил бы Оскара Рабина с Гюставом Курбе, который повалил Вандомскую колонну – символ абсолютизма. Так и Рабин был легендой неофициального искусства, которое повалило невидимую колонну советского официального искусства». Леонид Соков
 
Картины художника представлены в музеях и коллекциях:
   
Луна и череп
Государственная Третьяковская галерея
Деньги
Музей актуального искусства